Thirty-three students were inducted into the Mount St. Mary Academy chapter of National Honor Society. Seniors Madelyn Arcara, Amy Barry, Elizabeth Murphy, Julia Philipps, Mary Short and Trinity Walbesser and Juniors Bailey Blanchard, Ryan Brady, Emily Cannon, Caroline Cook, Gracie Curella, Ava Curry, Elizabeth Garland, Gayane Ghukasyan, Claire Ginnane, Rachel Hayek, Natalie Hesch, Ava Kuty, Angelina Lillis, Breanna Masci, Alexa Persico, Mia Quarantillo, Abigail Rice, Jaynee Roussie, Rebecca Shaw, Sheila Strott, Ella Stubbe, Stephanie Syl-Akinwale, Grace Tabone, Elise Waddell, Davoren Walsh, Audree Woods and Sophia Young were chosen based on their outstanding scholarship, leadership, service and character.

Students and their families attended a ceremony in the Mount St. Mary Auditorium and were addressed by alumna Mary Ossei-Anto Owusu, a 1999 graduate of Mount St. Mary. Owusu is the founder and CEO of GuruBound, an online learning platform that helps businesses use search engine optimization, and a Marketing and Information Systems professor at Canisius College. She spoke about the four tenets of National Honor Society and reminded inductees that, “Compassion is the most treasured gift you can give the world, and it gives the four tenets wings.”

“We are very proud of the thirty-three students who have been inducted into National Honor Society,” said Katherine Spillman, Principal of Mount St. Mary. “This recognition is a result of their dedication to their studies, as well as to our school and community.”

National Honor Society was founded in 1921, and chapters are located throughout the United States and around the world.


Connect with us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me