Mount St. Mary Academy is pleased to announce five new members have joined its Board of Trustees in the 2019-2020 academic year.

The Executive Board welcomes Peg O’Brien Simons ’78, senior regional EHS engineer at Moog Inc. and Colleen Allen Esq. ’98, Senior Deputy Counsel for Independent Health Association. Simons will serve as the board’s vice president and Allen will serve as its secretary.

Simons and Allen have both previously served as trustees of the school, each devoting time as executive board members, as well. Simons served on the board from 2012 to 2015 and additionally served on the school’s Alumnae Board. During the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 academic years, Simons was also the STEAM coordinator at Mount St. Mary Academy. Allen served on the board from 2010 to 2015 and held the role of chairperson for the school’s 2018 Principal Search Committee, leading to the hiring of Principal Katherine Spillman.

“I am thrilled to partner with the Mount St. Mary Academy Board of Trustees and grateful for all the ways that they champion our belief in every Mount student,” Spillman said. “Through their ongoing support and desire to vision with our school administration, faculty and staff, the board helps us ensure that our students receive a top-notch, well-rounded secondary education, rooted in our 92-year tradition and fueled by an innovative curriculum that prepares students for their next steps into higher education.”

Mount St. Mary also welcomes to the board: Maria Velasco Deyell ’95, Project Director at Brand Intersection Group; Dan Cavarello Esq., partner with Sugarman Law Firm; and Perry Pedini, Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center supervisor for the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The board will be led by President of the Board Sarah Taylor ’05, director of client services at Strategic Financial Solutions. The Executive Board will be rounded out by Treasurer Linda Balkin, who served in the same role for the previous year.

Connect with us:
Follow by Email
Visit Us
Follow Me